Mississippi Fire Fighters Association Summer Conference Rankin County MS 6/5/2010

Pres. Jeff Hale calls meeting to order at 1005 hrs.

Opening Ceremonies of Miss FF Association, Colors presented by Mississippi Fie Academy.

Tommy Steen addressed body and gave Welcome to Rankin County and then introduced Rankin County District 2 Supervisor Wood Brown who also gave welcoming speech.

- J. Pope made motion to accept agenda. 2nd T. McDermott –All in Favor- Motion Carries.
- B. Smith made motion to accept minutes of the 2009 conference in Hattiesburg. 2nd J. Pope- All in Favor- Motion Carries.
- R. Murden motion to suspend roll call. 2nd T. McDermott –All in Favor- Motion Carries.
- T. McDermott, B. Warren presided over memorial service which honored all the men and women in Mississippi Fire Services that have lost their lives in the last year. 42 Firefighters were honored with a rose in their memory. Mississippi Fire Academy Honor Guard performed the memorial service.

Award given to Mr. Virgil Pate in honor of his wife Ann Pate who passed away in 2010, Mrs. Pate designed the original seal of the Mississippi Fire Academy.

Racheal with the MDA recognized Miss. Fire Departments for their continued support of the MDA and she gave report on how much money the State raised.

- R. Bell election Commissioner advised members of the body to stand and state their name if they had intentions of running for a position on the Executive Board, those that were running stood.
- J. Pope made motion to adjourn till tomm morning. 2nd T. McDermott- All in Favor-Motion Carries.

Pres. Hale called meeting to order on 6/6/2010 at 1020hrs.

- R. Bush opened with word of prayer.
- J. Hale opened new business and made remarks on Insurance and advised the members of the body that we paid over the allotted \$12.00 per person on our first premium and this was brought to the attention of Tim Lowery and he advised that he would credit us back our money.

- J. Swales presented Financial Report from May 2009- May 2010 to the members of the body and answered questions accordingly. T. McDermott made motion to accept Financials. 2nd R. Murden- All in Favor- Motion Carries.
- J. Hale read letter requesting Mike Stevenson as Lifetime member of the association. R. Bell made motion to accept. 2nd S. Berry –All in Favor Motion Carries.
- J. Hale made announcement of new website.

Bob Wedgeworth brought up discussion of the FF Combat Challenge at the conference, all seemed to be happy with the event. S. Sandridge made motion that FFCC move with the conference city to city and the MFFA support it financially. 2nd R. Martin – All in Favor- Motion Carries.

B. Warren presented bylaw change to the members of the body asking that the Executive Board have the power to go above \$12.00 per person but not to exceed \$15.00 in the event of a policy change to the Insurance. C. Phillips motion to accept. 2nd T. McDermott – All in Favor – Motion Carries.

Stan Owens of Adams County and Chief McNulty Jackson FD asked for the 75th FF's conference to be held in their city both gave a brief description of what they could offer, Chief McNulty advised that he would put \$5,000 towards the Firefighters Combat Challenge if it came to his city, a vote was taken by all present and Jackson FD won with 35 of the 67 votes cast.

Elections at the 73rd conference begin with R. Bell presiding over elections.

President- Bruce Burkeen nominates Brad Smith he accepts. Mark Whiteside nominates Jeff Hale he accepts. Nominations close

VP at Large- Rick Murden nominates Billy Whittington he accepts. Scott Berry nominates John Pope he accepts. Nominations closed.

Secretary- Daniel Cross nominates Josh Swales he accepts. Nominations Close.

NW VP- Greg Hedrick nominates Mark Brown he accepts. Nominations close.

NE VP- Brad Smith nominates Terry Tucker he accepts. Nomination close.

NWC VP- Andy Petro nominates Henry Outlaw he accepts. Nominations Close.

EC VP- Clarence Butler nominates Richard Stampley he accepts. Nominations close.

WC VP- Billy Whittington nominates Jason Watkins he accepts. Steve Ashby nominates Marshall Robinson he accepts. Nominations Close.

SW VP- James Barnes nominates Abra Hines he accepts. Nominations close.

SE VP- John Pope nominates Tommy McDermott he accepts. Nomination close.

S VP- Rick Murden nominates Wade Beesley he accepts by phone conversation because he is not present. Nominations close.

Speeches were made by candidates with opposition.

Ben Warren and Robby Bush counted votes.

The following were elected to their positions:
President- Brad Smith
1st VP- John Pope
NE VP- Terry Tucker
WC VP- Jason Watkins

Jerry Johnson made motion to destroy ballots. 2nd by T. McDermott- All in Favor-Motion Carries. Ballots destroyed.

S. Berry made motion to adjourn. 2nd T. McDermott- All in Favor- Motion Carries.

Respectfully submitted Josh Swales Secretary/ Treasurer